First Look at Summer Love

The ABC has confirmed an August premiere date for Gristmill's new eight-part comedy series Summer Love.

Created and produced by Upper Middle Bogan’s Robyn Butler and Wayne Hope, Summer Love is a laugh-packed anthology of eight very different summer holiday stories.

Starring an impressive line-up of Australian talent, including Miranda Tapsell, Patrick Brammall, Harriet Dyer, Nazeem Hussain, Stephen Curry, Sibylla Budd, Tim Draxl, Alison Bell, Bjorn Stewart and Annie Maynard, the only thing the episodes have in common is the setting – the same dream holiday house by the beach.

Our Summer Love stories and characters include:

Old friends Jules (Sibylla Budd) & Tom (Patrick Brammall) & Jonah (Stephen Curry) & Steph (Harriet Dyer), who discover their friendship may have reached its expiry date;

Surprise instant parents Kelly (Miranda Tapsell) & Craig (Richard Davies);

Aspiring rapper Imran (Nazeem Hussain) and his surgeon girlfriend, Nabilah (Sana’a Shaik), who grapple with Imran’s abandonment issues;

Chalk-and-cheese couple Luke (Tim Draxl) & Olly (Harry McNaughton), whose one-year anniversary brings a surprise interloper into their relationship;

Strangers Marion (Robyn Butler) & Eddy (Wayne Hope), who find themselves forced to stay together after a double booking;

Charlie (Chenoa Deemal) & Zeke (Bjorn Stewart) whose trial separation is not going to get in the way of their annual beach weekend;

Sisters Hannah (Alison Bell) & Alex (Annie Maynard), who leave their chaotic family lives behind for a holiday recharge;

And troubled teenager Frankie (Charlotte Maggi) is surprised when unknown visitor Trevor (Keith Robinson) suddenly arrives on the front lawn.

Production Credits: A Gristmill Production. Major production investment from Screen Australia in association with VicScreen, the ABC and Kinetic Content. Written by: Kodie Bedford, Alison Bell, Patrick Brammall, Robyn Butler, James Colley, Harriet Dyer, Wayne Hope, Nazeem Hussain, Jayden Masciulli, Kate Mulvany, Bjorn Stewart, Miranda Tapsell & Nath Valvo. Produced by: Robyn Butler and Wayne Hope. Associate Producer: Louisa Kors. Executive Producers: Robyn Butler, Wayne Hope and Greg Sitch.  ABC Executive Producer: Todd Abbott. Kinetic Content Executive Producers: Chris Coelen and Melissa Myers.

Summer Love premieres Wednesday 31 August at 9pm on ABC TV and ABC iview.

Bg image blog